IndiaOpen:Mary Kom defeated Filipino Josie Gabuco 4-1 to win the 48kg category gold.

February 02, 2018

Indian boxers regaled their roaring fans with eight gold medals in the India Open International Boxing Tournament, led by the inimitable Mary Kom, Sanjeet, Manish Kaushik, Pwilao Basumatary, Lovlina Borgohain,Pinky and Maneesha and Amit here at theThyagaraj Stadium on Thursday.

Mary Kom defeated Filipino Josie Gabuco 4-1 to win the 48kg category gold.Pwilao Basumatary (64kg) was the first woman to win gold. The former world and Asian bronze medallist beat Thailand’s Sudaporn Seesondee 3-2.

Lovlina Borgohain claimed the welterweight (69kg) gold among women, getting the better of compatriot Pooja.

Commonwealth Games bronze-medallist Pinki Jangra (51kg) registered a unanimous victory over Mongolia’s Jargalan Ochirbat. Manisha (54kg) added to the gold rush for women by claiming the top honours against M. Meenakumari.

L. Sarita Devi (60kg) settled for silver, losing to Finland’s Mira Potkenon in the final. Sarita lost 2-3, unable to counter Potkenon’s final-round blitz.

In the men’s draw, Sanjeet (91kg) picked up India’s first gold of the day, upstaging Uzbekistan’s Sanjar Tursunov. He matched Tursunov punch for punch in an engrossing contest, getting a 3-2 verdict.

National champion Manish Kaushik (60kg), who stunned world and Asian medallist Shiva Thapa on Wednesday, didn’t have to step inside the ring to collect his gold. Manish was given a walkover by his Mongolian opponent Battumur Misheelt, who pulled out owing to a cut sustained on his forehead during his semifinal.

Share More:

Share This Post:

India - Politics, Elections, Current Affairs, Crime, Business, Sports And Entertainment - Fans Express

Related Articles

Next Post »